Perkins Post-Secondary CTE Program (Perkins V)

Prior to preparing Applications for the Perkins V Grant,  each institution will need to conduct a thorough Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment (CLNA) that includes identifying and reaching out to representatives of special populations. These special populations include individuals with disabilities, individuals who are economically disadvantaged, homeless individuals, youth who have aged out of the foster care system, youth with a parent who is a member of the armed forces, and Native American youth.

Provided below is a compilation of resources to assist college administrators with their efforts to identify and recruit special populations representatives. Where possible, information about the groups, including descriptions of the programs and outreach they provide is included.

NOTE: New York State is divided into ten Economic Development Regions. The resources provided have been assigned to one or more of the ten regions (see below), especially if they serve multiple counties. With 62 counties in the state, administrators may find it easier to find their local resources by region.

  • 1
  • Capital Region
  • Albany, Columbia, Greene, Saratoga, Schenectady, Rensselaer, Warren, Washington
  • 2
  • Central NY
  • Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego
  • 3
  • Finger Lakes
  • Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates
  • 4
  • Long Island
  • Nassau, Suffolk
  • 5
  • Mid-Hudson
  • Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester
  • 6
  • Mohawk Valley
  • Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Schoharie
  • 7
  • New York City
  • Bronx, Kings, New York, Richmond, Queens
  • 8
  • North Country
  • Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence
  • 9
  • Southern Tier
  • Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins
  • 10
  • Western NY
  • Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara